Theory Crafting MMO Roles

Jul 28, 2016
Edit: This is a kind of rambling post, and it seems a few people have missed the core parts of it. I'm going to change up the formatting so people can see what's important and what they feel they can skip. The 4 Role Model is the centerpiece of this post, and generally speaking of this thread

============================Background============================
I've been playing RPGs since the D&D white box set. I played MUDs throughout the 90s, first on BBS, then later on newly blossoming Internet. I was busy with RL when MMORPGs first came out (UO, Ever Quest) but I had friends that played, so I still got an earful. When my son got interested in CoH prior to Issue 3 I took one look at it and went out and bought myself a copy the same day.

I was familiar with the concept of the trinity from my MUD days and from hearing my best bud talk about EQ. When I started playing CoH there was no need for the trinity in that game, and my first though was "Cool, gaming has evolved". Yet, sadly, many MMO designers still think that you need the MMO trinity to force players to team. This is just not so. Yet, to find the alternatives to the trinity you need to break down the roles of the trinity and compare them to what roles are actually available in the metagame.

==========================Defining the Trinity==========================
The trinity consists, obviously, of the Tank, the Healer, and the DPS. But are those the only meta roles available? My answer is "no". Given that it is possible to improve the stats of players, or disimprove the stats of the mobs we have another role that falls outside the classic trinity. We also have a role where a player can stop the mobs from moving (but not from attacking), prevent them from moving and attacking, or cause them to attack a target other than the one that they (the mob) have selected. My breakdown on the metagame roles then is as follows;